Slide out the spool.

November 8, 2009

Today I had the privilege of being able to view two wonderful exhibitions at the WA Art Gallery.

One, the last day of the W A Indigenous Art Awards and the other the work of  master photographer Richard Woldendorp.  A window seat in any plane journey is always my preference. Flying over this wonderful wide brown land I marvel at the expression of the arial view depicted by some Aboriginal Australians in their paintings. Doreen Reid Nakamarra  (my people’s choice, who sadly died last week) a member of the Pupunya Tula artists, was one very special visual artist. Just how do a nomadic people know what their homelands look like from above?

And to have the two exhibitions together…… magical.

Here is my pic for the day taken at a school fete:

Alternate Drum Boy

 

 

2 Responses to “Slide out the spool.”

  1. Shazar Says:

    wow.. what a beautiful photograph.. thank you for sharing!!

  2. J Thomson Says:

    Very cleverly capturing the graceful hand in sharp focus with the rest “softened”. Well done – I found it captured my attention!


Leave a comment